Brookfield Central used to have trouble getting athletes out for track and field. But under coach Steve Kracht, that has changed.

'One of the issues of the past has been getting kids out for track and keeping them out,' the veteran coach said. 'We began the year with about 90 kids and only lost three or four during the year. I see this as a success for us in our quest to rebuild this program.

'We are not blessed to have an 'elite' athlete in any of the events, but we do have a bunch of kids that have worked their tails of to be the best they can be to help our team succeed.'

Kracht was straight forward about his team's goal.

'Every team has a starting point; our goal was to finish well beyond our starting point,' he said. 'Our kids accomplished that this year. The kids were running better times, throwing farther, jumping higher and farther nearly each and every meet this year.

'They were seeing that the work they put in during the week was paying off. Because of their willingness to put in the work, we were able to win two meets this season, including our own invitational — something that hasn't been done here in a very long time.'

The Lancers also did a better job in conference play.

'We were able to finish better in the GMC meets than we have recently,' Kracht said. 'We had a better representation at the sectional meet, five kids in six events.'

Competing at the sectional were Kuma Okoro (800-meter run), Ezedike Chioma (200), Buc Nellen (pole vault), Gabe Eagon (1,600) and Ethan Gustafson (110 and 300 hurdles). Nellen then went on and qualified to compete at the state track meet in La Crosse.

'We believe we have a solid foundation to build upon in the coming years,' Kracht said. 'Our freshman and sophomore classes were contributors to what we accomplished this season, and our junior class will have a number of kids leading the way.'

The Lancers will lose 16 seniors to graduation: Nellen, Okoro, Chioma, Gustafson, Tyler Demets, Joe DuBois, Brandon Hughes, Bruno Indig, Joey Koppelman, Dom Laballarte, Mitch Meves, Logan Meyer, Ben Olson, Nick Rozanski, John Schneider and Ryan Schmidt.

The only team awards were captain honors, and those went to DuBois and Okoro.