After battling injuries to win just seven games in 2016, Brookfield Central's baseball team bounced back to win 20 games this past season.

One of the major reasons the Lancers enjoyed such a resurgence was the return of senior pitcher Michael Hinz, who missed his junior season due to a broken right index finger.

Hinz posted an 8-1 record with a 0.94 ERA and allowed just seven earned runs with 20 walks and 35 strikeouts over 52 1/3 innings to earn honorable mention All-State honors from the Wisconsin Baseball Coaches Association. 

The right-hander is the 14th player in program history to be named All-State and the first since Elijah Goodman and Luke Sommerfeld were second-team picks in 2014. Michael Hinz joins his older brother as an All-State player; Ryan Hinz was first-team All-State in 2011.

Hinz was Brookfield Central's lone first-team All-Greater Metro Conference selection.

Junior pitcher Adam Baade, senior catcher MJ Houdek and senior outfielder Jonathan Osman earned second-team All-Greater Metro, while senior outfielder Nathan Denofre was an honorable mention selection. 

Osman and Michael Panos were named Greater Metro Scholar Athletes.

All Conference

Greater Metro baseball 2017


Pitcher -- Caleb Willert, Franklin; Michael Hinz, Brookfield Central; Ben Ellifson, Oak Creek

Catcher -- Ben Stanke, Oak Creek

Infield -- Alex Binelas, Oak Creek; Carson Manning, Franklin; Peter Ahn, Marquette; Pat Sisk, Marquette; Matt Kasar, Oak Creek

Outfield -- Luke Posig, Oak Creek; Zach Nogalski, Marquette; Kyle Lewis, Franklin; Nathan Aide, Franklin; Kurt Mlachnik, West Allis Central

Utility -- Ryan Hubbell, Sussex Hamilton


Pitcher -- Danny Butler, Brookfield East; Ryan Keesler, Franklin; Adam Baade, Brookfield Central; Austin Trowbridge, Marquette

Catcher -- MJ Houdek, Brookfield Central

Infield -- Bobby Smith, Oak Creek; Joey DiTorrice, West Allis Hale; Zach Schmidt, Marquette; Kaleb Kling, West Allis Hale; Danny Llanas, West Allis Central

Outfield -- Joe Serbiak, Brookfield East; Jake Sutherland, Menomonee Falls; Sam Valona, West Allis Hale; Jonathan Osman, Brookfield Central

Utility -- Aaron Simmons, Franklin


Pitcher -- Jeff Mason, Wauwatosa East; Alex Behr, Oak Creek; Logan Roble, Menomonee Falls; Andrew Zeidler, Marquette; Aaron Plaisted, Wauwatosa East

Catcher -- Cole Vento, Brookfield East; Jacob Monfre, Franklin; Ryan Hecht, Marquette

Infield -- Matt Devinger, Franklin; Tyler O'Brien, West Allis Hale; Jarrod Kaczanowski, Oak Creek; Cory Dreier, Menomonee Falls; Jake Fierst, West Allis Central; Cole Roepke, Sussex Hamilton

Outfield -- Sam Gauger, Brookfield East; Cam Mielke, Sussex Hamilton; Gunnar Doyle, Oak Creek; Will Enneking, Sussex Hamilton; Nathan Denofre, Brookfield Central; Eric Jones, Franklin 

Player of the Year: Alex Binelas, Oak Creek

Coach of the Year: Pat Hansen, Menomonee Falls

Assistant Coach of the Year: Kent Sutherland, Menomonee Falls